O-New: Now Extinct Website

My New Feed Reader

(This is by far my most interesting and creative title yet.)

Thanks for all the responses to the previous post! I wasn’t able to respond (nor make this post!) on time due to academic concerns, but I think I’ve sorted things out now. The grand winner seems to be CommaFeed; not necessarily because it’s better, but because everything else has acute flaws that CommaFeed apparently doesn’t. Yet.

Firstly, Sabas suggested Newsblur. It only costs $24/year for a premium account. However, I couldn’t really see the benefits of Newsblur over other free readers. Newsblur does have a free version, but it only (your and my definition of ‘only’ may differ) supports 64 sites. Furthermore, it seems to have under 9000 daily users, so its smaller infrastructure might mean bad things.

Then, redball (I’d link to O-New, but that’d be dumb) and TWWK suggested Feedly. Unlike Newsblur, Feedly boasts the benefit of big breadth, with over three million new users since the decline and fall of Google Reader. Unfortunately, they also did mention its lack of feed searching capabilities; apparently, although it can search for new feeds, it can’t search within articles in your current feeds…

A quick Read of Google led me to confirm this. This is quite the important feature to omit in a feed reader; practically all my feeds are read through searches!! Although they are working on it, a feed reader without searching is practically useless.

TWWK also mentioned the Old Reader, which is an Old (Google) Reader. It seems alright from the demo, but if it’s based on the Google API, then I think (unconfirmed!) it’ll stop working after Google Reader is pulled.

Finally (actually, firstly), Fadeway suggested CommaFeed. The interface looked familiar enough, and after approximately five seconds of registration, it really felt like I was at home. Unfortunately, it’s quite unbearably slow, and it doesn’t seem to have archived previously-read articles. However, given the alternatives…. I suppose it’s the best I can do.

Ultimately, it’s quite the testimony to Google Reader’s sheer dominance that everything in comparison seems to… suck. Google Reader had more than half the market share for readers, and I’m sure dozens of others were based on Google’s API. Apparently, even that wasn’t enough for Google. I guess, when your company’s that big…

7 responses

  1. Current residence is vacation heaven

    I’m still not sure what a reader does. I’m guessing just something to keep track of many pages? I just use mass tabs for that. :D

    2013/05/20 at 17:07

  2. Readers tell you when a blog you follow has new posts. It helps when you’re following many (or even a few) blogs, because you won’t have to say load all those tabs up every day to check for new posts (instead, all the new posts are listed in the reader)!

    2013/05/20 at 21:26

  3. The Kenosha Kid

    Aw, but I like the open-a-ton-of-tabs ritual!

    Lemme guess: you’re one of those folks who always skips an anime’s OP and ED, too, aren’t ya? I bet you don’t even read the copyright information at the beginning of your books. Heathen.

    2013/05/22 at 03:24

  4. Hah! Nope, wrong on that. I always watch the OP AND the ED. Sometimes simultaneously if MPC-HC is being dumb.

    …actually, I take that back. I always /listen/ to it, the video may or may not be hidden underneath Google Reader. Or, now, CommaFeed. >_>

    2013/05/22 at 06:30

  5. I always watch the OP AND the ED. Sometimes simultaneously if MPC-HC is being dumb.

    It is always the little details like that that make me chuckle at your comments Mushy.

    This comment is a waste of space. I do apologize.

    2013/05/23 at 01:53

  6. (forgot the closing > Here, you can have an extra one > )

    2013/05/23 at 01:55

  7. Thanks for the extra >! I always needed one of those >_>>

    Actually, I was lying. I always skip Oreimo S2’s OP because I never actually manage to load up a stream before the OP’s over….

    2013/05/24 at 21:53