O-New: Now Extinct Website

AN O-NEW CHALLENGER HAZ APPEAR’D and OTHER STUFFZ(ORZ)

[MUSHYHIJACK: I really need to stop micromanaging this blog :< Also, this is already too many 
authors to handle so :< once again. This post is unedited in any form whatsoever, save the next
 picture that he already drew for us. Yay. Also formatting screwed up.]

Hey, this is a new contrib here at O-New. As you will see if you took that effort to scroll down the
page to the bottom of this post, this post is by "houraiguy" (would have been HouraiGuy if WordPress
had let it, altho come to think of it HouraiSaigyouji is pretty cool too).
So, I kinda look like (not rly, but I need an avatar other than the the picture of Heaven's Punishment
"Star of David" (Touhou 6: EoSD Stage 6 Normal Boss: Remilia Scarlet: First Spellcard)

Do not compare me to Hourai, the doll. ):/

...That's a scoped SMG there. Kinda like a chainsaw with a laser pointer =.= I like watching videos on YOUTUBE and on YOUTUBE I watch videos of walkthroughs of games. Specifically, SSoHPKC walkthrus. Mostly I'll be posting things that are not being done by the other ppl. I only have a Wii, and on the Wii I only have 4 games, if you count Wii Sportz as a game. So, addressing the "OTHER STUFFZ(ORZ)" in the title up there, I am ranting about Wii Sportz and how it is considered a game and why it should not be considered a game. WII SPORTS AND WHY IT SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED A GAME First off, WS has exactly 7 modes. That's it. Half or MORE of these SUCK. Mode 1: Tennis. Tennis sucks because of rather CRAPPY motion controls. Also, you can't even control the movements of your Mii. They just CALMLY walk their _ _ _ es up to the ball as it goes bouncebouncebounce and such. Motion control is not really a problem until you start facing "pro" rating CPUs. Ridiculous, ridiculous. Basically all of it is "Time your swing right, and swing right", due to the fact that there is one control method: swing Wiimote to swing racket. The timing window is waaaay too big; and I play as controlling both players on my side of the court (O.o), which gives me another freaking chance, which gets lost after the pro CPUs come up. Mode 2: Baseball. Baseball is basically doing two things: Pitching and batting. No running. No catching. BS? Indeed. Batting is pretty much all about timing and angles; it's like tennis with a much smaller window of time and more emphasis for angles. Also, the fielders are REALLY good at catching stuff. Pitching allows you to choose 4 different types of pitches: Fast straight pitch (fastball), slow straight pitch (dropper, I think), medium pitch that curves towards batter, and medium pitch curving away from batter. The hardest part is really only the batting. Your fielders are beast :D Mode 3: Golf. This is actually okay (read: DOESN'T SUCK). The motion sensor, as always, is rather over-sensitive, but this doesn't start affecting gameplay until you reach the area where you need to use the putting thing. Mode 4: Bowling. Also okay for me, although my friends have trouble with the fact that the ball has a tendency to curve. As the motion sensing is more of a gimmick in this mode, positioning is key. Funnily enough, I suck at actual bowling. Mode 5: Boxing. This SUCKS. I used to like it, but that was when I was actually winning when I went all crazed-monkey-on-drugs-doing-spazzification-while-holding-onto-Wii-mote-with-Wii-chuk against the CPU. Jesus, that was funny. Aiming your punches is very difficult, and movement is kinda imprecise. Time ticks away at very fast speeds, and the KO system is really luck-based. I like how if you dodge punches well, there's some slow-mo effects which also appear when you do some powerful punches. Mode 6: Practice. A set of exercises that practice your skills in the above five modes. Some variants. OK. I kinda like the bowling activity where there's like 150 pins in some rounds :D Mode 7: Training. Picks three random exercises from the Practice mode and you do them. Sucks because 3 of the different categories for the practice activities suck., and randomness SUCKS even more. As many will prolly agree, Wii Sports is more of a demonstration of the Wii's abilities (yes I am quoting this out of something, I just don't know where) than an actual game. Twilight Princess is a game. Super Mario Galaxy (2) is a game. Wii Sports is NOT a game. And then, we move onto Wii Sports Resort. -.- I don't own WSR, as it happens, but from what I've seen it IS a game, but it isn't really worth the price. WSR is 50 bucks, but comes with a BONUS ATTACHMENT that uses the nunchuk slot that "helps detect motions". If you ask me, the "motion plus" attachment is just an excuse to jack up the price. Frankly, the price should be $25 to $35. Hell, I don't even know if the motions are INTERPRETTED any better. Although the Lightsaber duelling thing looks cool: I kinda think it sound similar to boxing up there. Heck, Nintendo, here's an idea free of charge (lol Yahtzee style- see Zero Punctuation: Phantom Hourglass): How 'bout you make a "power pack" that includes Wii Fit, Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort, 2 Wiimotes, 2 Nunchuks, 2 motion plus attachments, the Balance Board, the two plastic coats that go on top of the 'motes (not gonna say the nickname, as it happens to be named after a certain plastic object used by males), and a Wii. Why not throw in a plastic coat for the balance board, anyway? So you stuff that shipt together, and you sell it for $425. Easy peasy. Then you send me that bundle free. =D

Title: AN O-NEW CHALLENGER HAZ APPEAR’D and OTHER STUFFZ(ORZ)

Hey, this is a new contrib here at O-New. As you will see if you took that effort to scroll down the page to the bottom of this post, this post is by “houraiguy” (would have been HouraiGuy if WordPress had let it, altho come to think of it HouraiSaigyouji is pretty cool too).

So, I kinda look like (not rly, but I need an avatar other than the the picture of Heaven’s Punishment “Star of David” (Touhou 6: EoSD Stage 6 Normal Boss: Remilia Scarlet: First Spellcard)

(Onew Self Portrait)

Caption: [i]Do not compare me to Hourai, the doll. ):/[/i]

I like watching videos on YOUTUBE and on YOUTUBE I watch videos of walkthroughs of games. Specifically, SSoHPKC walkthrus. Mostly I’ll be posting things that are not being done by the other ppl.

I only have a Wii, and on the Wii I only have 4 games, if you count Wii Sportz as a game.

So, addressing the “OTHER STUFFZ(ORZ)” in the title up there, I am ranting about Wii Sportz and how it is considered a game and why it should not be considered a game.

WII SPORTS AND WHY IT SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED A GAME

First off, WS has exactly 7 modes. That’s it. Half or MORE of these SUCK.

Mode 1: Tennis. Tennis sucks because of rather CRAPPY motion controls. Also, you can’t even control the movements of your Mii. They just CALMLY walk their _ _ _ es up to the ball as it goes bouncebouncebounce and such. Motion control is not really a problem until you start facing “pro” rating CPUs. Ridiculous, ridiculous. Basically all of it is “Time your swing right, and swing right”, due to the fact that there is one control method: swing Wiimote to swing racket. The timing window is waaaay too big; and I play as controlling both players on my side of the court (O.o), which gives me another freaking chance, which gets lost after the pro CPUs come up.

Mode 2: Baseball. Baseball is basically doing two things: Pitching and batting. No running. No catching. BS? Indeed. Batting is pretty much all about timing and angles; it’s like tennis with a much smaller window of time and more emphasis for angles. Also, the fielders are REALLY good at catching stuff. Pitching allows you to choose 4 different types of pitches: Fast straight pitch (fastball), slow straight pitch (dropper, I think), medium pitch that curves towards batter, and medium pitch curving away from batter. The hardest part is really only the batting. Your fielders are beast :D

Mode 3: Golf. This is actually okay (read: DOESN’T SUCK). The motion sensor, as always, is rather over-sensitive, but this doesn’t start affecting gameplay until you reach the area where you need to use the putting thing.

Mode 4: Bowling. Also okay for me, although my friends have trouble with the fact that the ball has a tendency to curve. As the motion sensing is more of a gimmick in this mode, positioning is key. Funnily enough, I suck at actual bowling.

Mode 5: Boxing. This SUCKS. I used to like it, but that was when I was actually winning when I went all crazed-monkey-on-drugs-doing-spazzification-while-holding-onto-Wii-mote-with-Wii-chuk against the CPU. Jesus, that was funny. Aiming your punches is very difficult, and movement is kinda imprecise. Time ticks away at very fast speeds, and the KO system is really luck-based. I like how if you dodge punches well, there’s some slow-mo effects which also appear when you do some powerful punches.

Mode 6: Practice. A set of exercises that practice your skills in the above five modes. Some variants. OK. I kinda like the bowling activity where there’s like 150 pins in some rounds :D

Mode 7: Training. Picks three random exercises from the Practice mode and you do them. Sucks because 3 of the different categories for the practice activities suck., and randomness SUCKS even more.

As many will prolly agree, Wii Sports is more of a demonstration of the Wii’s abilities (yes I am quoting this out of something, I just don’t know where) than an actual game. Twilight Princess is a game. Super Mario Galaxy (2) is a game. Wii Sports is NOT a game.

And then, we move onto Wii Sports Resort. -.-

I don’t own WSR, as it happens, but from what I’ve seen it IS a game, but it isn’t really worth the price. WSR is 50 bucks, but comes with a BONUS ATTACHMENT that uses the nunchuk slot that “helps detect motions”. If you ask me, the “motion plus” attachment is just an excuse to jack up the price. Frankly, the price should be $25 to $35. Hell, I don’t even know if the motions are INTERPRETTED any better. Although the Lightsaber duelling thing looks cool: I kinda think it sound similar to boxing up there.

Heck, Nintendo, here’s an idea free of charge (lol Yahtzee style- see Zero Punctuation: Phantom Hourglass): How ’bout you make a “power pack” that includes Wii Fit, Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort, 2 Wiimotes, 2 Nunchuks, 2 motion plus attachments, the Balance Board, the two plastic coats that go on top of the ‘motes (not gonna say the nickname, as it happens to be named after a certain plastic object used by males), and a Wii. Why not throw in a plastic coat for the balance board, anyway? So you stuff that shipt together, and you sell it for $425. Easy peasy.

5 responses

  1. I’ve played Wii Tennis. On the couch.

    2010/06/25 at 02:05

  2. ROTFLMAO I have Wii Sports Resort, and it sucks b***s. First of all, biking is waving the two controllers rapidly. That’s seriously it. Then, the Motionplus actually DEGRADES the ability to focus, as Swordplay is platypushit because you seriously need to calibrate every five seconds, or you will attempt to stab, and end up doing SEPPUKU. >_> Overall, Wii kinda sucks, except games that aren’t focused on motion control (then what was the point of inventing the Wii?) like SSBB, and SMG2. Thus, I hope the Playstation Move is better.

    2010/06/25 at 05:08

  3. New onewdesign character!!!Mess with houraiguy and you can count the last seconds of your life!!!Spamers and legion of anonymous hackers…looks like you’ve met your doom…houraiguy-the last thing you are gonna see after a spam or bad comment.And look at that AWESOME hover gun!!It floats and shoots at stuff that sucks.(Houraiguy maybe controls it with the power of his mind?No?)

    2010/06/25 at 06:46

  4. I think we have way too many people now… :<

    2010/06/25 at 22:21

  5. houraiguy

    Actually, that’s a hand without the forearm that’s holding onto the folding stock of the SMG.

    No, I have two perfectly fine forearms.

    2010/06/29 at 23:45