O-New: Now Extinct Website

Why Expletives Exist

Expletives (read: “bad” words, “swear” words, or “****”), along with euphemisms, insults, and discrimatory/racist/negative-in-general words, are some of the handiest words that exist.

They save time, in fact. When you wake up in the morning to get up for school/work/college (which is school, I suppose)/university (which is also school, I also suppose)/whatever and you have to catch the bus or go on a drive or walk several thousand miles or whatever, you usually wake up “really/)@/^v^\/\/early” (e.g. 7:00 – 7:30 local time or whatever). So you set an alarm on your clock/watch/cell phone/laptop/whatever and fall asleep and dream of Boogalooland or whatever and the alarm rings.

“SH*T NO I DUN WANNA GET UP SCROO U EVIL CLOCK”

And you’re like, “$#1’|’!” or whatever, but then you realize that you have a few spare minutes and you fall asleep again, where you wake up again and realize you’re late, which cues “$#1’|’!” again.

Now, when you say sh*t, you are not talking about what “sh*t” represents (organism doots).

What you mean is “I feel greatly unhappyified by this most recent development that occurred in my life most recently, and thus this woeful unhappyificating unprecedented serious affair creates such mental anguish for me that I shall spontaneously generate large quantities of tears that I shall very nearly suffocate in, but will not actually suffocate in and survive, then die from dehydration, and so I must say sh*t”.

See? You can very easily save time by abbreviating that to “IFGUBTMRDTOIMLMRATTWUUSACSMAFMTISSGLQOTTISVNSIBWNASIASTDFDASIMSS”.

Although you may not want to say “If Gub Tummered Toim Elmer At Woos Axmaph Empty Is Glickot Tisven-Sib When Asia S*xually-Transmitted Disease Fudda Simsz”, so you can abbreviate that to “sh*t”.

>>>>>

nd so “sh*t” was born, or at least in my completely fictional tale.

The other use for expletives is as an insult. There’s something subconsciously appealing about the taboo element of most expletives, which is why we tend to go with “You little sh*t” over “You little pile of mouse droppings arranged in a ice cream swirl pattern shape thing that looks unrealistically brown”.

—Note: Houraiguy lost interest at the point of >>>>>. Thus this post is lame. :/ I think I have to do my posts in one sitting for the needed motivation. Also, that coincidencially looks like a Solid Snake beard in the first pic. That was unintentional.

Comments are closed.