O-New: Now Extinct Website

2011 Spring Anime

I just realized I didn’t do a preview for Spring (well, seeing as I started halfway through the season, had never watched (ok, fine I did) anime before, and had no idea that people actually watch anime on television in Japan because I didn’t know Japan was an actual place), ever before! Also, first anime season of 2011 because Winter started in 2010! Deal with it.

There are a whopping 45 shows this season (even more if you count OVAs, Moshidora, and the like) – by far the most of any season I’ve seen, though really that’s saying absolutely nothing. I guess I started blogging at a bad time, because the 2010 seasons just pale in comparison to this one.

That also means that my average rating will probably rise up by quite a bit, as I’m not planning on seeing the crappier shows of the season. Even shows that I won’t watch cause they’re not awesome enough are probably better than most other shows in previous seasons.

Argh, I’ve never written a post this long and this tiring, ever before. At least a good half dozen hours were spent on this spanning at least two weeks of time.

Woop.

To keep it simple, chart only from Cart Driver (cause I’m a lazy fuck who has no idea who that cowboy person is), pictures from Wikipedia or MAL, general info and general trailers generally from general RC, Hanners’, and… Those… people… and finally, opinions may have been copied from everybody.

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN I WRITE A SEASON PREVIEW AFTER THE SEASON HAS ALREADY STARTEDDDD :(((at least some new trailers/ops are out…)

[Click for Full Size; not gonna make media height over 2048 px so…]
[Alphabetical Preview; I have no idea how Scamp decided to order his chart but it looks like a shitty ordering anyways]

30-sai no Hoken Taiiku


Literally “Health and Physical Education for 30-Year-Olds”, it’s about this lame virgin who needs cupids to help him have sex.
Trailer (C’mon, it’s an anime about sex)
MAL: “The guide books teaches shy men around 30 how to date and have sex with women.” Sorry, I’m not in your target audience.

A Channel


As two many others have pointed out, it’s basically K-On without the band.
Trailer
Of course not.

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai


Six friends aren’t really friends anymore, and drama drama drama oh my
Trailer
People are praising this, but I still can’t really appreciate the whole drama category. Skipping this for that, because there are way too many other shows this season, and Hourou Musuko really bombed my taste for ‘realistic slice of life’ animu. I’m sure the community will love this, but I probably won’t.
Anyways, tl;dr: oh my

Ao no Exorcist


Shounen manga about the son of Satan wanting to kill his father, and thus becoming an exorcist.
Trailer
What an ungrateful bastard. That term isn’t derogatory. May watch if have time; otherwise, may read if have time; otherwise, lolstupidshounenshou

Appleseed XIII


From Wikipedia: An appleseed is the seed of an Apple.
Trailer
So I’ll wait till then.

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control


Japan sucks, China bails them out but the people are still sad. Our main character is offered a ton of money if he goes into the ‘Financial District’, where he finds MONEY AND INTELLIGENCE
Trailer
Chocolate? Creddit?! This is awesome!

Danball Senki


an advertisement anime alliteration
Trailer
So cool it’s like they’re in Antarctica

Deadman Wonderland


Japan sucks, China bails them out but the people are still sad. Our main character is offered death if he doesn’t go into the ‘Deadman Wonderland’, where he finds YANDERES AND MURDERERS
Manga Trailer
Dead people? Debit?! This is awesome!

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko


Someone has a cousin he doesn’t know about, something something something.
Trailer
Nope, something

Dog Days


It’s about the hottest, most sultry days of summer.
Trailer
im sure this will be extremely informative

Dororon Enma-kun MeeraMera


Don’t you wish 1970s anime would be adapted into this?
yuyu hakashoo Trailer
I love how Enma doesn’t wear pants

Fireball Charming


2-minute long Disney shorts about German people.
Trailer
Cha-cha-cha, CHARMIN

Fujilog


What.
What
<font colour=”What”>What</font>

Gintama’


Aliens vs. Samurai, oh my.
Trailer
If I watched the previous 200+ episodes, maybe. A solid show nevertheless, probably.

Hanasaku Iroha


Slice of life anime about a sixteen year old moving to help work at her grandmother’s inn.
One of many Trailers
Read AnoHana comment. Also, 0:50 SLAP

Happy Kappy


It’s about a nine-year old girl.
It’s a nine year old Trailer.
It’s for nine-year old girls.

Hen Zemi


Probably some show about perverts around a normal person. Sounds like Mitsudomoe for uni students…
Trailer
If I knew what to say…

Hidan no Aria


It’s about… no, IT’S PRODUCED BY J.C. STAFF. I don’t even know why I dislike J.C. Staff, but let’s just say the otamot’s, heh, “special ability” is very interesting. Heh. Also, that heroine reeks of J.C. Then again, we all know their criteria for anime adaptations…
Trailer
THERE’S A REASON LITTLE GIRLS DON’T USE GUNS, YOU KNOW

Hoshizora e Kakaru Hashi


VN adaptation, *sigh* every season has one of these…
Trailer (NSFWish)
Japan’s adult games feature little girls, something’s wrong (or terribly right) here…

Hyouge Mono


It’s about tea, winning numerous awards for its literacy (read: esoterical nonsense) and historical reflectiveness (read: boredom). No, it actually seems pretty good.
Trailer
As interesting a title ‘Tea for Universe, Tea for Life’ is…

Jewelpet Sunshine


It’s about a eight-year old girl.
It’s a eight year old Trailer.
It’s for eight-year old girls.

Kaiji: Hakairoku Hen


Kaiji, a poor guy, is forced to gamble to get more money. But this is a gamble between life and death…
Trailer
FUCK, YES. Just reading the article made me shudder at how BADASS this person has to be to survive. Actually, I may not watch this because if I do I might FAINT from the sheer AWESOMENESS of the show. Though tbh coupled with me not watching S1 + Index rewatch fiasco (I tried to catch up on Index because it was airing in Fall, to no avail), I might not get to this this season. But OH MAN

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai II


The sequel to the previous one, about this guy trying to get as many girls as possible, because that’s the cool thing to do nowadays.
Trailer (from last season)
WHEN I’M A NAZI I PATROL MYSELF GUNS FALL FROM MY HANDSSSSSSSSS

Lotte no Omocha!


Astarotte, a ten-year-old girl, needs to build a harem so that she can suck people’s dicks to get semen.
Trailer

Now you know what the creators of Ika Musume really make. Also, that little kid is apparently that little girl’s dad. Yes, welcome to Japan.

Maria†Holic Alive


From what I can tell, a lesbian in an all-girl’s school finds out her love is… a cross-dressing boy at the same school. Oh, it’s comedy.
Trailer
Interesting concept? But season two, so.

Metal Fight Beyblade 4D


It’s about people who fight each other with dreidels.
New OP
FUCK SO MUCH NOSTALGIA This was like my favourite show on TV when I was a kid ;___;

Nichijou


As no many others have pointed out, it’s basically K-On without the band. By the same studio. And… that.
Trailer
Of course, if it’s anything like this.

Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai


Oh boy, instead of having one person get six girls they’ve decided to let three people have… eighteen girls
Trailer
I love how the Wikipedia article has three sections on characters: Heroines, Men, and Other People.

Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream


I think instead of pachinko games now rhythm games are being made into anime. Dayum, I came up with that all by myself and then I read Hanners”s UK-Anime article.
:(( I feel so unoriginal now.
Trailer
dat tophat

Ring no Kakero 1: Sekai Taikai Hen


A pretty well-established manga about boxing; this is its… I don’t know, fourth anime season? It’s a misleading title.
No Trailer
If I was a boxing fan.

Seikon no Qwaser II


The sequel to an anime about breastfeeding.
Trailer (Slight NSFW)
Apparently there’s more to it than that, but it seems to have plentiful amounts of fanservice + second season = nope.

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi


It’s a gay anime. Not derogatory.
Trailer, Fanmade (Only NSFW if your boss is Christian homophobic)
I don’t like gay anime.

Sengoku Otome: Momoiro Paradox


…I don’t know, so I’m not even going to try explaining. Apparently it’s about boobs. Oh, and based on a pachinko game.
Trailer (IT’S SO NSFW YOU SHOULDN’T WATCH IT, YES YES TOTALLY)
I don’t like boobs, especially when they’re 2D

Showa Monogatari


It’s about the Yamazaki family, living in 1964 Tokyo – the year of their Olympic games. A dramatic anime for old people.
Trailer
Anime for old people, eh? It’d be nice to get a refresher from ACTION SHOUNEN ACTION, MOE CUTE MOE, and DRAMA SLICE OF LIFE DRAMA, so I’ll see how this goes.

SKET Dance


Some members of a very very bad bad support group do some very very bad bad things.
Trailer (No subs but EPIC NONETHELESS)
Why this season has so many good anime I shall never know. Giving this a try.

Softenni


Comedy + Tennis = Awesome!
Trailer (NSFWish?)
Comedy + Tennis + …Those sorts of things = Never.

Steins;Gate


FUCK YES.
Trailer
FUCK YES.

Suzy’s Zoo Daisuki! Witzy


From what I can tell, it’s about verdant grass.
Trailer?!
SO MOE

Tiger and Bunny


Apparently, it’s a superhero show, made by a solid studio. Seems to have some social commentary vibes but from what I’ve heard, and seen (the last five minutes of) in anime club, it’s just an old fashioned superhero brawl.
Trailer
I don’t know, I haven’t seen any superhero anime, ever. Well, it’s not a Marvel Adaptation, so…

Tottoko Hamtaro Dechu


It’s about hamsters.
TRUST ME THIS IS THE REAL TRAILER
Hahaha, when it aired, it was just the original show with a new intro and borders. IT’S FAKE GUYS

Tono to Issho: Gantai no Yabou


Gag anime about samurais.
No Trailer
Is the plural of samurai samurai?

Toriko


MANLY MANGA ABOUT MANLY MEN DOING MANLY THINGS BY EATING MANLY FOOD, MANLY
3D Movie Trailer
I’m loving the manga, but with so many shows, I’ll have to give this a pass. I can’t see anything new happening besides PUNCH PUNCH PUNCH anyways…

X-Men


COMICAL COMIC ABOUT COMICAL COMEDIANS DOING COMICAL THINGS BY PUNCHING COMICAL PEOPLE, COMICALLY
Trailer
It’s a sequel, AND it’s Madhouse. No expectations for this.

Yondemasu yo, Azazel-san


It’s about a detective that summons lowly versions of HELL PHONEYS to do his bidding.
non sense (NSFW if your boss doesn’t like people turning into cows)
It’d be cooler if it was about a detective that summons lawly (i.e. law-abiding) Verizon CELL PHONES to do his bedding.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Zexal


It’s an anime that failed when the manga introduced cards.
Scouter
THAT CHARACTER DESIGN I CAN’T STOP LAUGHING

Conclusion:
…I really don’t think I’m going to get through any of this. A solid season with many good shows that don’t seem like they’ll disappoint – I plan to leave with a lot of 6s, 7s, and 8s this season. Unfortunately, due to time constraints I don’t think I’ll be able to blog more than (and possibly not even) one anime episodically, though as usual everything will be half season review’d.

There are some interesting things in the OVA lists, including the ending of Roberta’s Blood Trail, more .hack//Quantum, and Highschool of the Dead Extras, which I will undoubtedly be blogging (all three). Eh, overall, it seems like a nice season with nice shows that should suit everyone’s tastes.

Final Not-Really-Pre-Spring Roundup: (I’ll make a first impressions post soon!)
Mushy’s Blogging: The most confusing show (which may not be the best).
Mushy’s Half Season Reviewing: [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control, Deadman Wonderland, Kaiji: Hakairoku Hen (once I watch the first season), Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai II, Nichijou, and Steins;Gate.
Mushy’s Indecisive: Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai, Ao no Exorcist, Hanasaku Iroha (I’ll watch one of the two Hanas), Showa Monogatari, and SKET Dance.
Mushy’s WTF: Fireball Charming, Fujilog, Hen Zemi, Hyouge Mono, Tiger and Bunny, and Yondemasu yo, Azazel-san.

That makes for a total of six + two/three + one/two series – in other words, I’m going to have to watch an episode a day!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: 2011 Spring Anime First Impressions « O-New

  2. Pingback: 2012 Winter Anime Part Three « O-New