O-New: Now Extinct Website

Mayo Chiki Half Season Review [Completed]

KBV:XLCJB:LKJW#RLMARHGJARHGH I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHY I HATE MIRAI

I thought J.C. Staff was the only studio Choo had in his grasp, what with Mirai Millennium and Twin Angel, but MONEY TALKS TO EVERYONE, especially to Japanese animators who don’t have any. I guess it’s just sad that a person like Choo gets so much more money than the people animating the anime he loves so much, to the point that the animators would stoop so low to create an anime about fucking Mirai just so that they can continue living. Oh well, world’s wealth is unbalanced, and if it were balanced we wouldn’t have an economy.

Anyways, on to Mayo Chiki.

Surprisingly, Mayo Chiki was alright. It was at heart a stupid fanservice anime, but instead of other stupid fanservice anime, it openly embraces its fanservice with character such as Kanade and Nakuru. Instead of ending on unresolved romantic tension to set a second season, it solidly ends its run in much the same way as No. 6 – not that a main character suddenly goes away, never to be seen again (seriously, what was up with that), but that the first several episodes solidly set the faster proceedings in the latter episodes.

That was not what made it good – what made it good was how well it could blend its humour with some rather serious moments. Even Kanade’s final sprained leg felt dramatic, not because it hurt (and if it did, the better – serves her right), but because it shows Subaru’s inability to protect her, and thus threatens to force her to quit her job. Actually, that wasn’t particularly dramatic at all. Never mind, its drama sucked, even when it talked about things like Subaru’s dead mom.

Mayo Chiki demonstrates impassive drama – if earlier episodes showed how much Subaru’s mother mattered to her, sure, maybe her mother dying would’ve meant something. The thing is, we have never seen Subaru’s mother before, and thus we feel no reason to be sad simply because something that we haven’t ever seen before died. Similarly, if Kinjirou’s mother died, we would feel no sadness – after all, we haven’t see his mother with him before, either. She could be dead and nobody would care. Mayo Chiki didn’t talk about how important Subaru’s job was to her; it talked about Kinjirou’s harem. So what if she loses her job? She’ll still be friends with Kanade, she’ll still go to school, and she won’t have to crossdress daily. So, it wasn’t dramatic at all.

What would be dramatic? If Kureha suddenly died, and suddenly Kinjirou’s life was all alone. What else would be dramatic? If Subaru was permanently paralysed in one leg, and Subaru had to suffer all of the consequences. Big things, dramatic things. Not things about people we don’t care about.


SIDNET

In other news, GAME DEVELOPMENT CLUBS.

I went to Game Development Club at my school last week. I was going to go in but the person said ‘lolno eating retard’, so I went to the cafeteria and ate instead. After three hours (or fifteen minutes), I went back up with half of my lunch in my stomach and entered the room.

As I walked in, the first thing I saw were three rows of ten computers each.

Behind every single computer, a short Asian guy with glasses and black hair.

Admittedly, there was one blonde girl, but basically everybody else (around 40 people) was Asian. The lead developer guy (who sort of looks like Mirai but with black hair, darker skin, a moustache, glasses, a sloppily shaven beard, smaller eyes, short hair, and a male body) told everybody to separate into groups.

“All game testers go here!” he proudly shouted. A group of about 10 people shambled over, forming a group of about 20 game testers. “All game designers go there!” A group of 8 formed at the other side of the room.

“All artists, go way over there!” Four bored-looking people walked over. “Finally, all coders, come here!”

Four people moved.

Two were my friend and me.

“Are you going to be releasing this game?” I asked. “Yes, we will.” he calmly replied like a true Mirai-looking person but with black hair, darker skin, a moustache, etc. “Have you heard of Deme?”
“No, what’s Deme?”
“It’s a game platform. You can buy our games there. You need a Seem account.”
“But what is Seem?”
“You haven’t heard of Steam?”

As my friend and I walked away, I heard his voice behind me: “Wait, so what are all of you guys doing?”

Apparently, everybody else was playing CoD.

Alright, the numbers were a bit exaggerated and he didn’t say the last thing (though the other few people were indeed playing CoD), but you get my gist: GAME DEVELOPMENT CLUB IS STUPID

But do you know what club is even stupider? THE CRAFTS CLUB

WHAT CRAFTS CLUB TAKES PEOPLE ON A TRIP TO FIGHT FUCKING SHARKS IN THE OCEAN? I HAVEN’T HEARD OF A SINGLE CRAFTS CLUB THAT TAKES ITS MEMBERS ON FIELD TRIPS TO ATTACK BEARS. AND WHY IS EVERY FEMALE IN THE SHOW IN THE CLUB (besides Kanade)?! CRAFTS MY FACE

Anyways, after I went to game development club, I went to anime club cause there was still some time left in lunch. They were showing Episode 1 of Steins;Gate.

I walked out to French class and ate my lunch there because there was a substitute and substitute teachers let you eat lunch in French class. Or maybe there wasn’t, I forgot. Oh, and then Steve Jobs died. :I

I’m actually sick right now so I can’t think straight, so I’ll wrap this post up.

Mayo Chiki wasn’t really that funny, either. But its music was great and completely fit the mood for every occasion.

It’s a bit sad how all those sheep were included purely to earn money by selling plushies, though. Everybody’s mouths in episode 10 were directly copypasted so it looked scary as hell. Episode 13 was completely unnecessary. FUCKING MIRAI

Overall Rating: 4/10

Comments are closed.