O-New: Now Extinct Website

Merry Christmas: Twelve Days of Comments

Y’know, I never understood why people used colons in post titles. I was originally going to make something punny around ‘comment’ and ‘christmas’ having the same first letter, but I guess my brain blanked out so I had to write a boring coloned title instead. You can call me Colonel Title if you want.

This is a Christmas post because, at the date of this post being published, it is Christmas in London, Portugal, and Morocco – the only countries which matter.

BUT TO EVERYBODY WEST OF EUROPE, IT IS NOT CHRISTMAS YET

You have NO IDEA HOW MANY TIMES

I HAVE SAID TO PEOPLE

THAT IT IS NOT CHRISTMAS YET

…Except, now it is.

Winter solstice is over. Autumn is over.

It is now Winter.

Merry Christmas, everybody.

Anyways, the content of this post: everybody else is doing this twelve days of Christmas thing, but I can’t because I have to blog Majikoi/Ben-To/Horizon (and that’s not a highlight of my year!). So, I’ll do all twelve days in ONE POST which I have made over the course of twelve days. Yep, I totally didn’t write this post in a burst of inspiration an hour before Christmas. I planned this all long, long ago. An hour ago, actually. An hour before Christmas.

:X

Since I’m a sucker for comments, here are twelve of my comment milestones:

12 Days of Comments, Day Twelve: September 10th, 2009

This was the day when I got my first comment!

…It was a test comment that I posted myself, and subsequently deleted an hour later. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Eleven: Week of September 14th, 2009

I’m not sure what day it was, but a bunch of friends that I started the blog with posted a few comments!

The blog was originally a site to post updates about the development of our new SUPER AWESOME COOL TEAMWORK game.

…We didn’t develop a new SUPER AWESOME COOL TEAMWORK game, our team disbanded, I deleted the posts that I made that month, and I’m not in contact with those friends anymore. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Ten: January 13th, 2010

This was the day when I posted my first post!

I commented on it, as well.

…It was another test comment, and I subsequently deleted it ten minutes later. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Nine: February 16th, 2010

This was the day when I got my first comment!

That was from Michael James Williams, which is the first comment on O-New from someone who isn’t me, that I didn’t later delete!

…Michael doesn’t even know what this blog is about. He doesn’t read it, either. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Eight: February 28th, 2010

This was the day when I got my first comment from a person who watches anime!

Seeing as O-New is now just another anime blog, this is quite the milestone. If Seinime didn’t post that comment, I might not even have gotten into anime in the first place. Curse you, Seinime! Now half my life is wasted on anime! (Actually, I thought he was a spambot at first, until now. I talked to him again like, what, a year later? I didn’t even know he /commented/ on my blog…)

…Wow, Seinime still sometimes reads posts on this blog once in a while. He’s my longest-time reader! (Apart from myself, of course.) :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Seven: April 5th, 2010

This was the day when I first linked to my own blog from my own post!

This is another milestone, although to be honest, it’s not really as much of a ‘milestone’ as it is a ‘starting line-marker’ or whatever they call those starting line-marker things. What’s a milestone, anyways? A stone that you place at every mile? That doesn’t even make any sense! But anyways, a post on O-New linking to another post on O-New is a self-trackback, and I only made one of these self-trackbacks after two entire months of nonstop daily posting.

…But now, over half of the comments on this blog are self-trackbacks. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Six: May 30th, 2010

This was the day when I hired my first employee!

…Of course, all of my writers have left, except for houraiguy, who’s as inactive as a lifeless, suicidal doll. Guy. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Five: June 6th, 2010

This was the day when I got my first comment from a person who watches anime… on an anime post!

Everything I write are anime posts, now… I have no idea how I managed to write a post a day, every day for almost four straight months. What the fuck did I post about?! Truth be told, to find all these milestones, I just went back through the archives of all of my posts, and my God they are despicable, monstrous, HORRIBLE things. People should not have to read these grotesque mutilations of the English language into gruesome articles oozing with terrible language and disgusting thoughts… I really want to go back in time and hit past-me on the head, though I do have to feel sorry for him, getting what, 10 comments over the course of four months.

…But Roger never commented again. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Four: June, 2010

This was the month when I got 15.5 times as many comments as the month before. It was also the month where I started mass-reading anime blogs, a process that continues to this day. Since all of the comments in that month were written by five people, I don’t think my tactic worked very well :P After all, even though I got 15.5 times as many comments as the previous month…

…eh, that’s 31 comments, only one comment per day. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Three: July 22nd, 2010

This was my first comment that had a video embedded.

…I know, that’s lame. I’M RUNNING OUT OF IDEAS, OKAY?! Gosh. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day Two: April 24th, 2011

This was my busiest day. 622 people visited O-New in that day.

The next day, 400 people visited, and it stayed around that for a week, raising the views/day of that month up to 226 – it would take four more months to overtake that average, and right now I’m only at around 266 views/day.

All of the previous ‘days’ focused on ‘first’ events – first comment, first actual comment, first non-testing comment, first comment with a video, etc. Funny that this day focuses on number of views, but there’s no simple way for me to calculate the day with the largest number of comments. There were seven comments on that day, though!

…Too bad three of them were by me. :X

12 Days of Comments, Day One: May 24th, 2011

This was the day when I got 1000 comments.

Once again, I can’t easily calculate self-trackbacks, but I’m sure that I’ve made over 300 self-trackbacks up until that time. 400 more comments were by me.

…Not really much of an achievement, getting 300 comments in the span of a year. :X

And… that’s it. I’m still comment-starved. flare and I have written over 600 comments; I now have over 700 self-trackbacks, and a total of 1750 comments. 150 comments in half a year?

I’m good at this blogging thing, aren’t I?

tl;dr: nobody likes reading my blog /emperorj

P.S. You have no idea how much I wanted to test out WordPress’s new Tweet Embedding Technology™

P.P.S. Tetris stands for Tweet Embedding Technological Research and Innovation Systems

P.P.P.S. In case you missed it: Merry Christmas, stop reading my blog and go celebrate with your relatives/friends/people already!

P.P.P.P.S. Post-Post Post Note: Hey, guess what, this post just gave me eight more self-trackbacks!

:’(

P.P.P.P.P.S. ‘Post-Post Post Note’ means a ‘Post Note’ that was written ‘Post-Post’. A ‘Post Note’ is a note added to the end of a post (all those P.S.s I keep writing). I usually write these before I publish a post. ‘Post-Post’ is an adjective describing something done after a post was published. I usually have Post-Post Edits, in which I edit a post after I publish it. Then, a Post-Post Post Note is a note added to the end of a post after the post was published.

Post-Post Tweet (I guess Morocco, Portugal, and London don’t matter):

P.S. Repeat Number One: You have no idea how much I wanted to test out WordPress’s new Tweet Embedding Technology™

7 responses

  1. Why dont oyu comment on my blog anymore?

    2011/12/26 at 09:30

  2. Happy Kwanzaa! >_<

    2011/12/26 at 15:16

  3. Why dont oyu post on your blog anymore? :(

    well, hmm I guess because it was private google reader didn’t show any new posts and I never checked… :v

    2011/12/26 at 17:52

  4. Hey, Hanukkah isn’t over yet! >_<

    2011/12/26 at 17:54

  5. Curse you and your hundreds of comments and thousands of views!

    As soon as I saw this post, the Twitter thing had me perplexed; I wanted to know your secrets!

    Luckily, after only exhausting minimal effort researching, I read your p.s. and now, I understand! THIS WILL TAKE META BLOG POSTS TO A WHOLE NEW LEVEL. Too bad I don’t write Meta posts.

    Uhmm, Merry Christmas (although it’s not Christmas)
    Merry Boxing Day (although it’s not boxing day)
    and Happy New Year (although it’s not new years yet).

    2011/12/28 at 00:42

  6. What twitter thing? :(

    2011/12/28 at 02:26

  7. Why, embedding tweets in your post of course. DON’T LIE, YOU KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING!

    2011/12/28 at 02:41