O-New: Now Extinct Website

Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa 27

Why am I blogging Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa right now, instead of, say, ST&RS? Well, uh, ST&RS is going to get cancelled soon, and I haven’t seen updates for the longest time. Meanwhile, Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa is going to get cancelled soon, but I have seen updates for the longest time.

Also, I’m here to take everything I said in my last Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa Manga Quarterly Review back.

You see, when I made that post, I actually only read to chapter 24. I didn’t read up to chapter 26 yet. I made that post then because there was no other post to make, and so I had to make a post without actually having read what the post was talking about. I swear, I have a tag for that, but I forgot what it was. Maybe the tag was ‘Ore no Kouhai ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai’. Maybe not.

Anyways, after making that post, I read up to chapter 26. Everything got better.

And now, chapter 27.

I was lying about that taking back part. I’m actually here to take everything I said in that MQR forwards. What I’m taking forwards is that:

  1. If Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa continues, it will ABSOLUTELY SUCK;
  2. If Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa ends, it will be a good manga;
  3. If Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa ended thirteen chapters ago, it would be a better manga.

Think about it. What was the point of the whole field trip arc, where Suda was introduced? What was the whole point of all those fillers and recaps in the middle of the story? What was the point of that fat person who knew about mirrors telling Harisugawa what’s happening, instead of just having the previous resident of the mirror do so? What was the point of Matsukawa being introduced?

Well, granted, Matsukawa’s introduction serves a purpose – if she goes in the mirror, Harisugawa and Satomi can be together outside the mirror. Furthermore, it makes the story more interesting. But really, there are only three elements that matter in this manga:

  1. The rules of the mirror (switching with people from outside, the condition for being freed, and the ‘if you’re freed, TOO BAD because your friend will lose her love for you’ clause);
  2. Harisugawa’s obsession with Satomi, which isn’t obvious to Satomi;
  3. Matsukawa’s role (misunderstandings with a love triangle and complications with three people knowing about the mirror);

That’s all. Nothing more. There’s no reason to make it more complicated. This manga could have easily been 13 chapters if it only focused on these three elements. Not only could it easily have been 13 chapters long, but each chapter would’ve been awesome. The mangaka can make awesome chapters, but only when they have no unnecessary parts. Where’s my proof? Well, for one (or three) – the previous three chapters.

Chapter 25, 26, and 27 were just amazing. This just shows you what compactness can do to a story. If it had continued at its previous pace, those three chapters might have taken ten chapters to finish, and it would’ve ABSOLUTELY SUCKED. But it didn’t. The mangaka succinctly trimmed the work to condense those ten chapters into but three chapters. And it worked, and it was awesome.

If this entire manga were like these three chapters, it would’ve been an awesome manga. But it wasn’t. The lacklustre beginning is barely outweighed by these awesome final chapters. Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa had great potential, but the author didn’t know how to use that potential. It’s merely a good manga.

Now that the final chapter is near, one of three things can happen:

  1. The author continues the story, making it ABSOLUTELY SUCK;
  2. The author ends the story normally, making it a decently good manga;
  3. The author wraps up the story so amazingly that nobody can do anything but admit that the ending was amazing.

Whichever one of these will happen, I’m sure looking forward to blogging it. As we’ve proven with Horizon and Majikoi, sometimes, the best posts are about the worst anime. Most of the time, the most entertaining posts to write are about the least entertaining shows.

Not that anybody’s going to be entertained by these posts. Since, y’know, nobody reads this blog. /emperorj

too list-y; dangerous read: I sure like using lists

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa 28 « O-New

  2. Pingback: Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa 29 [Completed] « O-New