O-New: Now Extinct Website

RRR Manga Quarterly Review 5

Let’s keep this short. Why? Because I need to run through another 13 chapters of this manga to write RRR Manga Quarterly Review 6. Why? Because I need a post for today. Why? Because today’s not actually March 27th, today’s April 22nd, and this post has been Rewritten. Why? Because I didn’t write a post on March 27th. Why? Because I was busy reading 13 chapters of this manga to write this post. Why? So I can run through another 13 chapters of this manga to write RRR Manga Quarterly Review 6.

Why?

Because RRR’s over.

Why is this bad? It isn’t. I just need to keep this short.

Kamiyama Naoki’s an interesting guy. Originally, it looked as if the mangaka meant him to be an antagonist bully, but ironically, it was him that was bullied.

Wait, is that really ironic? Why does one resort to bullying anyways? Humans don’t naturally want to kill each other – the whole of human civilization was created through teamwork – and yet bullies, well, bully. An explanation commonly brought up in school is that bullies are themselves bullied at home, school, work, whatever, and to release their tension and stress, take to bullying. The obvious solution to this vicious cycle is a person who releases their stress without bullying others, yet, such behaviour is, has been, and might always be woefully uncommon.


No, this image totally wasn’t edited, why do you ask?

Naoki’s actually better than many, focusing his rage and fury on boxing rather than on people. Fine, boxing is all about punching people and shoving them in tiny boxes (as reliable sources have told me), but better to fight fairly than to fight fatally. Haha. That was a good one, I should say. Never mind that boxing can also be a fatal sport. Y’know, boxing’s pretty violent. I WONDER WHY

Anywho, RRR brings boxing down to a level we can all connect with. Boxers aren’t super masculine, awesomely (in the fear-inspiring sense) manly, lean, mean, killing machines. They’re humans. And RRR shows us two pitiable humans, once unfit and frail (or unemployed and fat), but through sheer willpower, have persevered in becoming pretty cool guys.

This also goes to show that fujoshi (i.e. girls) really, really, dislike manly men, because I’m pretty sure few girls are reading RRR.

Furthermore, instead of treating your enemies as monsters (in certain manga, literally), RRR treats them as humans. You can’t look down on them; you’ve got to respect your enemies. I’m not sure why I said ‘furthermore’, because this has nothing to do with the previous paragraph and indeed, this post just got a lot more lame. Except not really. It was lame from the beginning. Too many capitals are being left out. Which is why I’m making these sentences. So. Short. Because. I. Can. Add. Capitals. At. The. Beginning. Of. My. Sentences. (Even. Though. They’re. Not. Actually. Real. Sentences.)

A closing note: the fights these 13 chapters (tempted to say ‘cour’ but I can’t…) had were intense, but some chapters really were unnecessary. Chapters 62 and 63 could’ve been crammed into half a chapter. Seriously, we know they’re trying hard, we don’t need 40 extra pages of it.

Maybe I’m just saying that because I just marathoned those 13 chapters after realizing the manga was already over. Oh well, I’m halfway through now, and I can’t wait to blog this to the end~! (So that I at least have some posts to post…)

P.S. Yes, O-New lost the Aniblog Tourney. Have a picture of my face, with added blood.

P.P.S. Nice that these 13 chapters ended with the end of the fight (Chapter 65). What a coincidence!
P.P.P.S. We’re actually /more/ than halfway through (the manga ends at Chapter 106), yet, we’re still only on debut fights?!

One response

  1. Pingback: RRR Manga Quarterly Review 6 « O-New