O-New: Now Extinct Website

Mouretsu Pirates 14

I’m sure all of you fervently read through my list of tags every time I make a post, and so, I do not even need to remind you that yes, indeed, Spring is here, and with it, the blogging of two more shows by our resident anime professional, AbsoluteZero255. However, this does not mean that I’ll magically stop posting about BODACIOUS SPACE PIRATES. In fact, I’ll scientifically stop posting about Bodacious Space Pirates, since everybody knows that Science is the absolute moral antithesis of Magick, even though they’re not mutually exclusive or even contradictory. Nevertheless, both Science and Magick can bestow unwanted effects on the individual, including coughing, wheezing, sneezing, and breathing, even though ‘Science’ is just a method, and doesn’t ’cause’ anything to happen, and ‘Magick’ is also just a method, which simply leads to conclusions possibly contradictory to Science. What I’m saying is, don’t be like these people. Science and Magick are DANGEROUS THINGS.

Anyways, let’s take a break from the previous season’s mad rants on the Scientific part of Mouretsu Pirates, and focus more on the Magical part – that is to say, its direction by its ~*magical*~ director, Satou Tatsuo. Apparently, he was also the Executive Producer for Azumanga Daioh, as well as a Director for Rinne no Lagrange. He also directed a ton of space-related shows, which is probably why he’s so good at directing… space-related shows. But not just space-related shows! I’m sure you guys have all noticed how he omits all of the needless action (we saw nothing of the rescue of Gruier from the Blue Planet), puts emphasis on seemingly trifles (WARNING ERROR ALERT: BAD GRAMMAR INCOMIN-oh wait it’s already passed) that actually symbolize important connections (such as Grunhilde’s not-offended reaction after ingesting hot Japanese mustard, which suggests a jovial relationship between her and Marika), yet still brilliantly pulls an episode towards the core of its essence.

Take this episode. The whole point was for Marika to recruit new Bentenmaru crew members. Some directors would omit the ‘needless’ searching for crew members in the relay station and leap directly into the action; many fans will agree that such needless searching is in fact needless. However, it’s not; this episode shows the strengthened bond of Gruier and Marika, it introduces Chiaki’s father, it has Marika wearing a short skirt to emphasize the ridiculous sexism of even hypermodern society, and it demonstrates Marika’s boundless determination for doing the most stupid-er, minute tasks. Look at her. Try to find a more enthusiastic girl.

Now that I reflect on the episode, actually, there was a lot of useless crap. HOWEVER – I had to reflect on the episode before realizing that this episode really quite sucked! Normal people never reflect on anything! I only reflect on things because my elementary school teacher forced me to write a three-page-long reflection twice a week! Mindless otaku weeaboo fatass neckbeard antisocial geeky nerds probably reflect even less than normal people!! So it doesn’t matter that this episode sucked post-reflection; as long as we don’t reflect on what we saw, we’ll never suspect that the episode sucked!!!

The beginning really stood out to me; the horror wasn’t outdrawn and Misa’s frightened surprise cut immediately to flowers and birds (literally), letting the mystery slowly sink in. That’s good mystery, unlike Another, which… I actually haven’t yet watched. Why did I make that comparison, then? Well, you know me, I say things.

Also, Mouretsu Pirates shows you every step of plans and battle strategies, whether before they happen or after. It feels much like Mission Impossible at times; indeed, I daresay I’d more enjoy Mouretsu Pirates if it were an episodic show, having a new mission each episode, yet still having an overarching plot. Nevertheless, I hereby crown the Mouretsu Pirates we have as Good Enoughâ„¢. The one thing I can complain about is Crunchyroll’s delayed and low-quality airing to those without subscriptions (note: I don’t actually watch using Crunchyroll, but wait, I’ve a good one up my sleeve). Nevertheless, I don’t have money to pay for a subscription, and if I wanted a better quality version, I’d have to…

…pirate it.

P.S. That’s me taking off my sunglasses. Yes, I am blonde. I am also a little girl. Surprised?! I really hope you are, because if you aren’t and you thought I was a blonde little girl all along I think something’s wrong with your head

P.P.S. Show is actually PRETTY COOL, in last episode’s preview, I thought he was the villain of the episode, but he’s REALLY AWESOME!! I wonder if he’s actually Harold, and just doesn’t want Marika to find out (and be biased against him because of Ririka)…

P.P.P.S. I wish I could recruit people from my Anime Club into becoming bloggers for O-New, but they all hate me because I talk too loudly. Today in Anime Club, I bet AbsoluteZero255 that they would watch Jormungand, and lo and behold, they did. The sore loser refused to give me any money. Horrible.

P.P.P.P.S. Wait, how does a biological virus infect Schnitzer

P.P.P.P.P.S. Chiaki’s dad is actually PRETTY COOL, too. Lots of PRETTY COOL people in this show.

P.P.P.P.P.P.S. It’s a new cour, why hasn’t the OP/ED changed yet?!?! Well, the ED did change (the Serenity girls are now in it), but NOT THE MUSIC

P.P.P.P.P.P.P.S. I’m not actually a blonde little girl

One response

  1. Pingback: ST&RS 23 « O-New