O-New: Now Extinct Website

Another Birthday

No, this isn’t a post on Another anime. I haven’t watched Another anime. I haven’t watched any anime this season but Mouretsu Pirates, and I hadn’t watched any anime last season but Mouretsu Pirates and Black★Rock Shooter (TV). Yeah. Gotta work on my priorities a bit.

But for now, here’s a post celebrating me inching one year closer to my inevitable death. Congratulations, I’m now older than 26.3% of the world’s population and 18.2% of Canada’s population.

I know that I’ve never shown my face online before, but just this once, I’ll show you guys what I look like in real life:

Yes, I am black. Yes, I am naked. Yes, this is the only post for today because I’m an egotistical bastard. Yes, you can look at yesterday’s post which actually contains three new posts (in links) for you to read. Yes, I’m going to sleep.

P.S. No, I’m not black.

30 responses

  1. inawarminister

    Yes you are.
    Stop deflecting the truth :(

    Also happy birthday my shroomy mate!

    2012/05/02 at 06:39

  2. You photograph well, and happy for a naked guy.

    Happy Birthday Mushy!

    2012/05/02 at 12:10

  3. Happy Birthday! o/

    2012/05/02 at 22:02

  4. [I know that I’ve never shown my face online before]

    But what about that time when you were playing the piano…?

    And of course,you just had to make a post about your birthday…Way to go Blogger-Mushy-2007!

    2012/05/02 at 22:21

  5. obligatory birthday comment to prevent being fired

    naw man happy birthday

    don’t fire me ok

    2012/05/03 at 02:19

  6. fired for life

    2012/05/03 at 14:59

  7. I’ll make a post about your birthday!!

    2012/05/03 at 14:59

  8. Thanks~! I just noticed O-New’s on your blogroll. Double thanks! I also noticed that I don’t actually read your blog. Apologies. BUT WAIT, DON’T WORRY, I probably will after this season’s over and summer’s started!! :D

    2012/05/03 at 23:03

  9. Thanks! I actually was naked when I showered, by the way. Like most people are. Showers don’t have anything to do with your comment at all.

    2012/05/03 at 23:04

  10. But black people cannot be mushrooms!

    Observe my proof:

    BLACK PERSON =/= MUSHROOM

    try to contradict that you nerd. also thanks.

    2012/05/03 at 23:05

  11. no need to fuss over it. I don’t really expect each and every site authors to do so.

    2012/05/03 at 23:15

  12. Wow, you’re so not egotistical! Unlike 78% of the people who write blogs (including everybody who writes for O-New, except MAYBE not flare)….

    2012/05/04 at 01:10

  13. (´・ω・`) Happy birthday I guess!

    2012/05/04 at 03:17

  14. (´・ω・`)cause I forgot gdi

    2012/05/04 at 03:18

  15. I forgot gdi too. I must’ve left my gdi at home or something, but thankfully, I found my gdi in my backpack yesterday.

    P.S. I hope you’re not Denko’s stalker! Because that’d be really creepy!

    2012/05/04 at 04:03

  16. I really liked that Denko story.

    2012/05/05 at 06:32

  17. Because OP reminded you of yourself?

    2012/05/05 at 06:34

  18. Yes.

    2012/05/05 at 06:58

  19. Pingback: May the Fourth Be With You « O-New

  20. so are you 16 yet

    cause that’s too old

    2012/05/06 at 07:30

  21. you’re just jealous of my youthful vigour

    2012/05/07 at 23:31

  22. The Flailing Fists of Heaven's Decent (Is there actually a limit as to how long I can make these names? It doesn't appear to be the case, maybe I will run into the end eventually but nope because I reached the end of the line and it lets me keep going...)

    Congratulations on making it another year without dying.
    Also, I didn’t realize you are also in the frozen wastelands of the north.
    At least your anime viewership is more up-to-date than mine. I am currently polishing off the Summer season.

    2012/05/08 at 03:16

  23. You can make your names as long as you want, I think! Try going up to 1024 characters or something.

    P.S. I’m not even polishing up the Summer season yet! I’ve got all the kami shows but I haven’t watched them yet…

    2012/05/08 at 03:48

  24. The Flailing Fists of Heaven's Decent (Is there actually a limit as to how long I can make these names? It doesn't appear to be the case, maybe I will run into the end eventually but nope because I reached the end of the line and it lets me keep going...(

    Ah. The problem is I keep finding really old shows to watch. Good for me though, since now I should have a lot of time in the next while where I can either A. be productive or B. watch tons of anime (which kind of feels like being productive in some twisted fashion). There is no other option, only these extremes! Except possibly option C., which lets me do a little of both in moderation to each other, or even simultaneously, if God allows it.

    2012/05/11 at 04:23

  25. Well, option C. is to read anime blogs, which is neither productive nor entertaining nor seemingly productive in some twisted fashion!

    P.S. I don’t even have the excuse of watching really old shows! B(

    2012/05/11 at 04:42

  26. The Flailing Fists of Heaven's Decent (Is there actually a limit as to how long I can make these names? It doesn't appear to be the case, maybe I will run into the end eventually but nope because I reached the end of the line and it lets me keep going...(

    As a side note, it would appear that I managed to unwittingly, perfectly use all characters in my previous post, as I can type much longer, yet it gets cropped at that line. A shame, really, since I seem to recall becoming increasingly creative as I expanded. The only theory I have on expanding it would be to make a very large written post to see if I can grab more lines for the name, but that is a little too much work.

    2012/05/11 at 23:19

  27. Just copy out lorem ipsum a lot. I’d test a comment out just to see what happens but that’s too much work for me :(

    2012/05/12 at 00:24

  28. The Flailing Fists of Heaven's Decent (Is there actually a limit as to how long I can make these names? It doesn't appear to be the case, maybe I will run into the end eventually but nope because I reached the end of the line and it lets me keep going...(

    Then for the sake of science, I present to you an excerpt from Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality:
    Let us repeat this for emphasis:

    The Defense Professor.

    Was being detained.

    In a cell.

    The Defense Professor was staring at the watching Auror and humming.

    The Defense Professor has not spoken a single word since he arrived in this particular cell. He has only been humming.

    The humming started as a simple children’s lullaby, the one that in Muggle Britain begins, Lullaby, and goodnight…

    This tune was hummed, without variation, over and over, for seven minutes, to establish the underlying pattern.

    Then began the elaborations upon the theme. Phrases hummed too slow, with long pauses in between, so that the listener’s mind helplessly waits and waits for the next note, the next phrase. And then, when that next phrase comes, it is so out of key, so unbelievably awfully out of key, not just out of key for the previous phrases but sung at a pitch which does not correspond to any key, that you would have to believe this person had spent hours deliberately practicing their humming just to acquire such perfect anti-pitch.

    It bears the same semblance to music as the awful dead voice of a Dementor bears to human speech.

    And this horrible, horrible humming is impossible to ignore. It is similar to a known lullaby, but it departs from that pattern unpredictably. It sets up expectations and then violates them, never in any constant pattern that would permit the humming to fade into the background. The listener’s brain cannot prevent itself from expecting the anti-musical phrases to complete, nor prevent itself from noticing the surprises.

    The only possible explanation for how this mode of humming came to exist is that it was deliberately designed by some unspeakably cruel genius who woke up one day, feeling bored with ordinary torture, who decided to handicap himself and find out whether he could break someone’s sanity just by humming at them.

    The Auror has been listening to this unimaginably dreadful humming for four hours, while being stared at by a huge, cold, lethal presence that feels equally horrible whether he looks at it directly or lets it hover at the corner of his vision –

    The humming stopped.

    There was a long wait. Time enough for false hope to rise, and be squashed down by the memory of previous disappointments. And then, as the interval lengthened, and lengthened, that hope rose again unstoppably –

    The humming began once more.

    The Auror cracked.

    From his belt, the Auror took a mirror, tapped it once, and then said, “This is Junior Auror Arjun Altunay, I’m calling in code RJ-L20 on cell three.”

    “Code RJ-L20?” the mirror said in surprised tones. There was a sound of pages being flipped, then, “You want to be relieved because a prisoner is attempting psychological warfare and succeeding?”

    (Amelia Bones really is quite intelligent.)

    “What’d the prisoner say to you?” said the mirror.

    (This question is not part of procedure RJ-L20, but unfortunately Amelia Bones has failed to include an explicit instruction that the commanding officer should not ask.)

    “He’s -” said the Auror, and glanced back at the cell. The Defense Professor was now leaning in back in his chair, looking quite relaxed. “He was staring at me! And humming!”

    There was a pause.

    The mirror spoke again. “And you’re calling in an RJ-L20 over that? You’re sure you’re not just trying to get out of watching him?”

    (Amelia Bones is surrounded by idiots.)

    “You don’t understand!” yelled Auror Altunay. “It’s really awful humming!”

    Long enough? I hope so. For science.

    2012/05/12 at 03:33

  29. The Flailing Fists of Heaven's Decent (Is there actually a limit as to how long I can make these names? It doesn't appear to be the case, maybe I will run into the end eventually but nope because I reached the end of the line and it lets me keep going...(

    Unsuccessful plot was unsuccessful.

    2012/05/12 at 03:34

  30. Hah, that comment was approved automatically because your name was the same as a previous comment. Oh well, I guess this is to deter spambots who want to flood the screen with too many words. I wonder if there’s a comment limit…

    2012/05/12 at 04:41