O-New: Now Extinct Website

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita 1

Hello everyone, az here. Before I get into the bulk of this post, I’d just like to say that Jormungand 10, 11, and 12 will be a single post including the review of the entirety of Season 1. I will be blogging season 2 this winter. I took a bit of a break from writing Jormungand during which I spent time writing for my own blog (which I’m taking a break from now) and overall being weird and lazy.

When I looked at the Summer chart, I really wasn’t so immediately amazed with anything. I only downloaded a few shows for the hell of it and I didn’t expect anything to be good at all. To my surprise, I ended up having quite a good time and picking up a few shows. I’ve certainly picked up Tari Tari and this show, Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita. Sitting at “Maybe” is Natsuyuki Rendezvous.

Anyways, let’s get into this ridiculous pile of weirdness.

These chickens are weird, but not nearly as weird as the rest of the show.

This is a weirder chicken.

When you are introduced to a new world with a completely different set of rules, societal conditions, and entirely different kinds of people, the introduction really has to be effective. No matter how unusual the concept is, the introduction has to be smooth and natural.

kawaii~

Given the entirely different world of Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, I think the first episode has done a pretty good job at introducing the audience to it.

In some other shows I’ve seen with settings that are about as different from ordinary life as this one, there would be a bit of an explanation period at the very beginning in which a calm narrator introduces the audience to the setting.

The power of FAIRIES

I happen to love the main character <3.

Jinrui doesn’t have this explanatory phase, but is still able to explain quite a lot about the setting by having the perspective of the show be from (having the main character of the show be) someone who knows much about the world situation and is involved in important current events. Adding to this are portrayals of the lives of people around Ms. Mediator, such as the younger girls (I’m still not entirely sure what Ms. Mediator does with them) and the older “village elders”.

This is a weird bunch for sure.

Speaking of the other human characters, I really hope that some of them get larger roles in later episodes. I originally thought that the other characters were just as integral to the story as Ms. Mediator. However, as the episode went on I found that the story became increasingly focussed on Ms. Mediator so much that toward the end the other characters weren’t really important at all.

I will BUUUUUUUUUUUUUURN MYYYYY BREEEEEAAAAAAAD

This final closing scene was probably the most powerful scene in the entire episode. It came completely by surprise, was so opposite of the tone that the rest of the episode seemed to suggest, and was just outright disturbing. I still don’t understand its purpose other than cliffhanger. I would be extremely impressed if the tone of this show naturally transitions to grimdark in a short amount of time, and I feel that this scene suggests that it will.

My heart <3

You can already tell that this is my favourite show that I’ve picked up so far. I can honestly not even predict what kind of reality-flipping antics this show will pull off in subsequent episodes, and this is probably one of the best things about the show.

Overall, this is looking pretty solid, if solids were actually bunches of munch.

Cover Rating: 7/10

2 responses

  1. BREAD ROBOT OF JUSTICE!!!

    That was the best moment of episode one the random bread robot ripping himself in half! LOL I love the idea of how things go completely crazy <3

    2012/07/09 at 07:16

  2. Whoa man you are the super cool guy

    anyways yeah this looks to be my favourite show so far, and episode 2 made it even better.

    2012/07/09 at 07:30