O-New: Now Extinct Website

Le Pianiste Virtuose en 60 Exercices, Nos. 21 – 43

It’s time for the long-awaited sequel to Charles-Louis Hanon’s Le Pianiste Virtuose en 60 Exercices!! Well, not really, because Le Pianiste Virtuose en 60 Exercices (The Virtuoso Pianist in 60 Exercises) doesn’t have a sequel. No, this is the sequel to my first post about the Virtuoso Pianist, and in this part, we’ll cover pianos, fingers, and not much else. If you’re reading this series for the first time, do read the first post’s introduction first. Really. Seriously. Honestly. Lie. Wait, no, it’s not a lie, it’s a -ly

We’ve moved past the Preparatory Exercises, so now, it’s time for harder exercises. In fact, you could even say they’re ‘Transcendent Exercises For Preparing The Fingers For The Virtuoso Exercises’. That’s what Hanon says. I mean, said, because he’s dead (hey, that rhymes), which means… woohoo, we’re still doing preparatory exercises…

  1. These exercises are actually twice as long as the previous twenty exercises, but everything else is the same: play them slowly with the metronome set at 60 bpm first, and then gradually accelerate to 108 bpm once you’re comfortable with the exercise. In fact, this exercise happens to simply be an embellished exercise #1. Take out the turns at the beginning and end and voilà: the first Hanon exercise.
  2. This exercise happens to simply be another embellished exercise #1. Take out the trills at the beginning and end and déjà vu! I forgot what I was going to say.

  3. You’ll notice that these exercises are to be practised in sets of two instead of sets of three. In fact, you just noticed, because this video was placed after #22 and not after #23. You’ll also notice that this exercise happens to simply be another another embellished exercise #1. Take out the trills at the beginning and middle and voilà: déjà vu.
  4. None of Hanon’s preparatory exercises have repeated notes (eventually, we’ll reach the special repeated notes exercise, but for now…), except the gap between exercise #23 and exercise #24 has… a repeated note. I wasn’t sure how to resolve that, so I just went down for a C (my hesitation is literally palpable). The actual exercise #24 starts on E.

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Le Pianiste Virtuose en 60 Exercices, Nos. 1 – 20 « O-New

  2. Le piano-blogger-guy!

    2012/07/18 at 07:43

  3. nope.guy

    2012/07/18 at 16:21

  4. I fucking hate Hanon’s exercises O_O. That’s all I can say…

    2012/07/19 at 12:23

  5. They actually get pretty fun in the last part! And by pretty fun I mean god, how am I even typing my hands are falling from my arm-AHHHHHHHHH AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH OH GOD THE BLOOD, IT’S EVERYWHEREEEEEEEEEE

    2012/07/19 at 16:32

  6. And no matter how many times I play them, just looking at the sheet music makes me go BARGLE, even though it’s really not that hard. I still mess up on No. 2…

    2012/07/31 at 22:24