O-New: Now Extinct Website

Yuru Yuri ♪♪ 01

yuruyuri_s2_01_akarin_toot_toot

“Yuru Yuri TOOT-TOOT~”

Enter stage left for Akaza Akari, a strawberry-headed middle schooler with an overwhelming protagonistic charm. Her day begins like any normal teenager’s: talking in monologue, brushing her teeth, and not being late for class with a bread in her mouth. She steps outside to meet her multi-colored ensemble (♪♪), and, apparently, everyone loves her… Approximately two minutes are spent fighting over her buns, discussing sleepovers, walking to school in a slightly awkward “Fleming Left Hand” stance (albeit with her right hand), and basking in Akari’s non-profit Wikipedia knowledge.

yuruyuri_s2_01_yabba_dabba_doo_koneko_kitten

“Yabba-Dabba Doo my Little Koneko-Kitten!” – “KYAA!! SHE CALLED ME A KITTEN-KITTEN!!!”

Two more beanie-baby heads enter the fray, who are just as infatuated by Akari’s charmingly good looks and super-stinky finger. Another loser was featured but just ignore that eyesore-ANYWAYS Akari unfortunately wakes up. Back to proper Yuru Yuri where no ones A-Carin’ for Akarin, the main thre-I mean four girls chill at a Hot Spring resort. Long story short, yuri ensues. The End.

yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_thunders_01

“OH AKARI PLEASE AKARRI ME!!!”

yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_thunders_03

“AKARRI THESE POKEBALLS BITCH!!!”

yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_thunders_03

“JIGGLY-POUT~!!!”

yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_thunders_04

*PLOMP*

yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_fanfare_1
yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_fanfare_2

yuruyuri_s2_01_pee_kay_thunders_05

“Haha, incomprehensibly silly Jiggly-Pout! Don’t you know Flat-Types are weak against Water?”

Alter-Fish:
yuruyuri_s2_01_akarin_stinky_finger1

“Oh yes! YES!! #sniff #sniff Its scent so pristine!… although it sorta smells like middle schooler feces…”

yuruyuri_s2_01_akarin_stinky_finger2

“BUT IT TASTES LIKE GRAVY!!!”

Impressions:

First off, Akarin’s dream was AMAZING! I’d prefer a slightly condensed version, but I can’t ignore how flawlessly the cast was reintroduced. It reminds us why YuruYuri was such a good show, and that is in part of its characters. Sequels, in my opinion, should rekindle past memories; it shouldn’t delineate too far from its core, and I think this dream sequence was a perfect example of such craftsmanship. The reintroduction was SO GOOD, that I may actually like Yui this time around. Oh wait, no I don’t. #BADUMPSH

Some quirks, which I’ll let slide for now, is how Ayano was handled. Call me shady (don’t call me Maybe #BADUMPSH) but she doesn’t have the same temperament without her trademark “TOSHINO KYOUKOU” and those distinctive accents. In short, she’s just not the same character… and by that, I’m calling her out: she’s a one-trick pony. #BADUMPSH It’s obvious she relies too much on her combo-girl, and I’m okay with that; she’s not an interesting character without it. Speaking of uninteresting characters, Yui was just as boring and detestable as always, and OMG WAS THAT AKARI’S SISTER?!?! It was a dream so probably not. (I haven’t read the manga so NO SPOILERS!!!) (mostly because this site can’t handle spoilers apparently)

Without the dream sequence and all that good Akari-nonsense, the truth is this episode sucked. No, it was horrible. It is by far the worst episode of YuruYuri in existence. Ever. FOREVER!!! I’VE HAD IT!!! The show is at its best when it unexpectedly smacks you across the face. With a hammer, for instance. But every other lame attempt at laughter, be it forced hot-spring yuri-nonsense or the dreadful slife-of-life ping-pong does not a good show make. Or humor. It doesn’t make humor. Or laughter… Alright, so Chinatsu’s hair is demonic. Why spoil that gag a second time? I admit it was slightly funny the first time, then exceedingly NOT FUNNY thereafter, in which case it just lessened its value. Hey, waiter, please, more tea. #BADUMPSH.

I may be outside its target audience, and my peers will probably ridicule me for saying this, but I can’t stand yuri…. WHOAAAAAAAAAA I’M FALLING!!! #BADUMPSH GET IT, GET IT?!?!? I SAID I CAN’T STAND YURI SO NOW I’M FALLING!!!… And before I hit my drop, let me explain: I don’t hate yuri (BUT YOU JUST SAID YOU DID), I just can’t stand the forced ecchi yuri. I feel YuriYuri shouldn’t rely on those dumb fanservice moments. It’s no different than “HEY MY NAME IS KENTARO LET ME CONVENIENTLY FALL ON YOUR TITS!!!” And being a slightly older college student now (BADUMPSH) it sorta makes me feel uncomfortable… Yuru Yuri, shame on you! You can do better than that! (BUT MY NAME SAYS YURI IN IT!!!) YEAH BUT IT DOESN’T SAY LOLI-#DROP

In short, I find YuruYuri’s non-yuri gags more enjoyable than its yuri-centric ones. And I think I’ll stick around for the aforementioned. Just to be systematic here, I give Yuru Yuri TOOT-TOOT episode 1 a 28.56 out of 100.

28.56 / 100

yuruyuri_s2_01_studio_ghibli

“I like Studio Ghibli!” – “Me too!” – ” . . . . . “

yuruyuri_s2_01_sailor_moon_abridged_episode_7_reference

“HeeeeeEEEyyy SahREEEENAAAA, EYE HURIED YU CUHN GHET GWOOD WUCK CHWARRMMSS THEI-AAHHHH” – ” . . . . . ” – ” . . . . . “

Alter-Fish:

yuruyuri_s2_01_paddle_waddle1

“If you can dodge a wrench, you can dodge most anything. The illusive limitations of the psychological mind halt our desire for physical growth, and thus, we, as a people, are forced to believe in our own fallacious inabilities.”

yuruyuri_s2_01_paddle_waddle2

“As per exam-

yuruyuri_s2_01_paddle_waddle3

-*SPLAT*

yuruyuri_s2_01_paddle_waddle4

“EHHH-HEEEEEEEEHHH MY HEAD IS NOT A TAKOYAKI!!!”

Alter-Fish:

yuruyuri_s2_01_STINKY_finger_alt

“Go on. Sniff my finger.” – “KYAA!! SHE-okay it really does smell like middle schooler feces…”

14 responses

  1. Oh my God 159 is here.

    2012/07/12 at 07:46

  2. redball

    Our sentiments exactly.

    2012/07/12 at 13:43

  3. TAH DAI MAAAAAAAAA

    I don’t watch this show. I’m just here for the jeezies.

    2012/07/12 at 15:45

  4. AKAARINNN!! I loved her dream part of the episode, but to bad she had to return to the real world and Kyoko is still her crazy self <3

    2012/07/13 at 05:28

  5. Jesus159159159

    It’s “THE” 159 to you!

    2012/07/13 at 07:21

  6. Jesus159159159

    sentiments

    Hmm, seems like a good enough reason to repost this

    EDIT: okay I guess youtube links don’t work one sec!
    EDIT2: okay they don’t work…

    2012/07/13 at 07:23

  7. Jesus159159159

    As long as you’re not here for Akarin’s finger… (◕︵◕)

    2012/07/13 at 07:24

  8. Jesus159159159

    KYOKO IS NOT COMPLETE WITHOUT AYANO!!! PLEASE REPLACE YUI WITH AYANO!!!

    AKAARINNN!!

    for some odd reason I can’t use blockquotes… but in any case, glad to see you on board! =3

    EDIT: Oh hey got em working!

    2012/07/13 at 07:26

  9. redball

    I tried to convince J that the captions for Akari’s dream should somehow reference the Jonestown Massacre. Obviously his humor is not as macabre as mine.

    2012/07/13 at 13:17

  10. 2012/07/15 at 23:12

  11. Who is J

    2012/07/21 at 23:29

  12. Whoa, you’re blogging again! The aniblog world needs your out-of-character screencap stories interspersed with musical interludes. Too bad I’m not watching this YuruYuri show in a hundred years though.
    But got to say, I love your scoring system there J159. A 28.56 out of 100 lets me know *exactly* how good this episode is. But perhaps instead of out of 100, it should be out of a nice random number like 73 or 8. Or 159?????

    2012/07/29 at 22:25

  13. Jesus159159159

    Yeah, image tags don’t really work on this site (◕︵◕)

    (at least I think they don’t…)

    2012/07/31 at 04:40

  14. Jesus159159159

    “Too bad I’m not watching this YuruYuri show in a hundred years”

    NAAICE IDEA!!! I take it you’re not a big fan of yuri either? If so, HIGH-FIVE!!! It’s not even the yuri that makes this show bad. It’s just… not funny =( (as of episode 2, gonna watch 03 later this week.) (I know 05’s already out but at O-NEW, IT’S OKAY!!! I can write whenever I want!) (Guess I have to sacrifice views for freedom, haha! #BADUMPSH errr, I mean…)

    Also, out of 159 would be too obvious! I decided on decimals since it’s all the rage ;)

    2012/07/31 at 04:45