O-New: Now Extinct Website

Answering John Sato’s pressing questions

redball: Do you know why you’re here?

Az: No.

redball: I think you do. But I’ll help you out. You were named. Your buddy John Sato ratted you out. We already heard the story from him. We know what’s going down. Now, you can cooperate with us and this will be easy, or you can do this the hard way.

Az:

redball: Fine. Listen, I know you think I’m the bad guy here, but really I just want to get this over with. I have a family to get back to. Let’s just get this under way. Mr. Sato already gave us the goods, but I’m going to ask you some questions anyway. Before we begin, I’m going to read you your rights and tell you how this works.

  • You have the right to follow the rule of fives. You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are presumed innocent until proven guilty, but nonetheless are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so forth. You must answer your own 5 questions as well. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • You have the right to remain silent. In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • You have the right to an attorney. To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • I’m asking the questions around here, but anyone is free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • We ain’t got all day. To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

You got that, kid?

Az:

redball: Good. Let’s get started.

Question 1: What is one of your favorite video games of all time? If you can, explain why it’s special.

A week ago, I would’ve had a lot of trouble answering this question, but at this point I can give a very definitive answer as I have very recently started playing a game that I consider to be one of my favourites ever. That game is Chrono Trigger.

Widely considered to be one of the best games of the 16-bit era (and perhaps of all time), Chrono Trigger is a game that is able to suck any kind of player in, for whatever reason.

The gameplay is fun, innovative, and addictive. Instead of the traditional random-encounter RPG, one engages in battles with enemies that you can already see on-screen before engagement. This allows for much interaction that makes the game have a more realistic experience.

The plot is very well-written and complex. The element of time travel creates a whole new dimension of story to any game, but is hard to execute well. Chrono Trigger has been executing it perfectly so far in terms of plot and character development. I’ve also heard that it has more than ten endings, each based on how one reaches and defeats the final boss.

The music is wonderfully composed. This is Yasunori Mitsuda’s first video game soundtrack. Composing 54 tracks, he worked so hard on it that he developed stomach ulcers and had to be hospitalized, leading Final Fantasy legend Nobuo Uematsu to step in, composing the remaining ten. I have to say that Chrono Trigger‘s soundtrack is one of the best of all video game soundtracks. It depicts everything in a very vast spectrum of emotions.

I do not find any significant flaws with this game so far, and although I am not very far into it, I can already say that it’s one of my favourite games ever.

Question 2: (As with the first question, only with anime instead of video games).

I’m actually not that big of an anime watcher, to be honest. I got into anime when my real-life friend, Mushyrulez, introduced me to this blog about a year and a half ago. The first 24-episode series I ever watched was Steins;Gate — yeah, that’s how new I am.

I don’t actually think I can answer this question, but I will talk about Steins;Gate for a bit right now.

When I first opened up Steins;Gate I didn’t know what was going on, to be honest. After the first episode, though, I understood everything completely and was able to follow it without any difficulty. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it — the twists and turns of the plot were quite well done.

As for quality, I have a bit of trouble rating it. Mushy’s rating of S;G is 8/10 (Masterpiece), but my personal assessment is anywhere between 6/10 and 9/10 depending on how I remember it. I don’t contradict my statement that I thoroughly enjoyed it, but how well does it compare to other shows, both before and after it?

Question 3: What video game has the best soundtrack (in your opinion)? Bonus points if you can name the person that composed it.

I can’t really decide completely, but for now I’ll pick the safe choice of Final Fantasy VI, the soundtrack of which was composed by Nobuo Uematsu.

All Final Fantasy soundtracks from I-IX are exceptional. I’m not too sure about afterwards because the later games weren’t composed by Nobuo Uematsu completely if at all (there are a few tracks from X that I really like, but I haven’t listened to most of it). For a reason I can’t pinpoint now, Final Fantasy VI’s soundtrack has a particular effect on me, particularly the non-battle themes.

Question 4: What video game have you beaten/anime have you watched (completely) the most times? (You can answer one or both.)

For some reason, the answer happens to be Nichijou. I tend to only watch/play things through once, but I’ve shown Nichijou to different family members on several occasions, which happens to be why I’ve watched it three times by now.

Have you ever found any music artists through anime (or video games) that you listen to as a “fan” (i.e. you listen to more than just their anime/VG stuff)?

Of course. Video game music is the first creative thing I worked with on the internet; my Mario Paint Composer works can still be viewed at My YouTube Channel. I’m a fan of video game music composers such as Nobuo Uematsu, Koji Kondo, Yoko Shimomura, Yuzo Koshiro, Grant Kirkhope, Tim Follin etc. and have also discovered many good remix artists from OCRemix, a video game music remix website.

Also, the Hale brothers who composed L.A. Noire.

——————

I think I might have to edit this a bit later, but for now I end this post by saying that Mushy’s away and because of that O-NEW has been having a little bit less traffic. This is because I’ve been quite busy programming and being burnt out from programming. Thank you very much for your patience; Mushy will be back on September the 3rd.

6 responses

  1. my [real]-life friend, Mushyrulez

    [real]

    I have some bad news for you…

    2012/08/30 at 22:08

  2. it’s been you with a hologram for the past two years??

    2012/08/30 at 22:44

  3. but where are your questions for your legions of adoring fans

    2012/09/05 at 05:18

  4. redball

    Perhaps we should come up with the questions ourselves.

    2012/09/05 at 18:13

  5. That was my question!

    Also, I see that my name is now a tag on O-NEW. I’m pretty sure nothing else in my life will ever top this achievement.

    2012/09/05 at 21:37

  6. Your constantly facepalming avatar unnerves me :(

    2012/09/05 at 22:22