O-New: Now Extinct Website

A Rollercoaster of Emotions: Why I Watch Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure

This was originally going to be something of an extended first impression, since I felt the series deserved a little more than the little blurb I wrote in our Fall Season Impressions Post. Alas, this post turned out to be rather short itself. At least it won’t take much of your time?

Anyway, I think Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure is. . .strange (hey, at least I get points for not using “bizarre”). Now, let me go on the record with some things. I will freely and without hesitation go on the record as saying that Jojo (the series, not just the character) is juvenile. It’s stupid. Logical fallacies abound, things happen for the sake of happening, realism is at a severe depression (just look at those twelve year olds and think for a second about the aerodynamics of a baller hat), and it’s all around less-than-intelligent material.

I question your ability to argue against that outside of discussing how it’s “not really the kind of show where any of that matters,” but feel free to disagree with me if you like.

Don’t get me wrong, though. See, for all its negative qualities, I don’t think Jojo is bad at all. As a matter of fact, I think it’s really quite good, enough so that it’s one of the shows I’ve decided to watch in my now limited and precious free time. Some people might describe this series as “so bad it’s good,” but I don’t think that’s really accurate. See, for all that it does wrong, Jojo does one thing really, really right. That thing is audience involvement. I think most of the people who went into the first episode without too many pre-formed opinions felt a genuine hatred of our villain Dio. As some other blogger put it on some blog that isn’t O-NEW, you feel like he’s Satan himself put into an anime. Do you remember how you felt at the end of episode one when Jojo totally crushes Dio in that fight? If you’re at all like me, you probably felt kind of excited and maybe a little giddy. You know what it is when you feel those things? That’s an emotional involvement in the show.

That’s what Jojo delivers, and that’s why I watch it. It’s not an intellectually stimulating experience with any stretch of the imagination. At the end of the day, it’s still a puerile mess. But it’s also a show that gets you personally involved in it in spite of yourself. You may think Jojo is a naïve idiot, but a part of you can’t help but root for him and hope he beats Dio. It gets the basics of conflict quite well; you hate the villain, you like the hero, and most importantly, you know which side you want to succeed.

This is a bizarre series (Okay, you can take away those points I saved in the beginning). Parts of it are bad to the point you almost think it must be intentional, while other parts are so good that your entire week will feel like a drag as you wait for them to hopefully appear in the next episode. These don’t cancel each other out to make it an average experience. Instead, they co-exist in the strangest fashion, making it a series that is simultaneously above and below average in terms of quality. You’re riding on a rollercoaster of emotions when you watch this show, and that experience alone is enough to make me come back for more.

13 responses

  1. My goodness, O-New is a beast that absorbs everything in its path

    2012/10/28 at 14:42

  2. No, it’s just that Mushy has the charisma of a Queen’s Blade heroine. None can resist such charms.

    2012/10/28 at 17:23

  3. redball

    We are O-New. Lower your standards and surrender your blogs. We will add your authorial and technological distinctiveness to our own. Your culture will adapt to service us. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated.

    2012/10/28 at 18:44

  4. mostly this ^

    2012/10/29 at 23:06

  5. and thus metanorn/randomc was formed

    let’s not go there guys

    2012/10/30 at 03:09

  6. Too late, I surrendered personal blogging.

    2012/10/30 at 04:47

  7. The Kenosha Kid

    But those guys think they’re serious. Does anybody here think themselves to be engaged in a serious effort?

    actually please dont answer that the answers might be too scary for me to handle

    2012/10/30 at 17:02

  8. Ouch, that stung.

    2012/10/30 at 17:43

  9. redball

    The tonality of this site is incredibly liberating. Yes, I take some of what I write serious, and I normally make sure that at least I am happy with the result. Sometimes the entirety of a piece is serious, but normally I am just writing about anime. There’s a freedom on O-New to write what you want, and to do so without worry of a heavy-handed editor or oversensitive readership.

    As a result of this, I don’t think O-New has much focus, nor a particularly distinctive voice. It doesn’t try to be everything for everyone either, though. It’s a place where I can give a fairly straight up critical look at Sankarea, but also post a tongue-in-cheek look at Clannad. This is a group blog, but it’s kind of like a collective of individual blogs. I’m sure we could put more effort into making the site seem more professional, more organized, more focused, or more homogeneous. If we did that we’d lose the best part of O-New, though: fun. I don’t think it would be very compelling if we did that.

    2012/10/30 at 20:46

  10. aniblogging is srs bsns yo. if you don’t devote 110% of your energy to aniblogging you can’t be a true aniblogger

    2012/10/30 at 23:20

  11. The Kenosha Kid

    That’s more or less what I meant, actually, just with less of an accidental insult. Sorry.

    2012/10/31 at 05:12

  12. redball

    No harm, no foul.

    2012/10/31 at 13:06

  13. No worries, it was just too perfect an opportunity.

    2012/10/31 at 21:47