O-New: Now Extinct Website

Fare Thee Well, Tamako

Goodbye, Tamako

It’s not where you come from.
It’s not where you’re at.
It’s where you’re going
and I am going home.

A friend of mine

We left Tamako on the precipice. Would she jump? Should she?

Leaving what you know is a terrifying thing. Truly. Parents spend years worrying about how to make the transition from home safe and trauma-free for their children. We have systems of trial separation, we call them dorms.

The choice to leave should ultimately be the left to the child. Lest you push her away. This is a test. Is she ready? Can she decide on her own? Will she jump?

Tamako was not ready. Yet, she is strong enough to admit this. She’s also smart enough to know why.

Tamako_Market-12_2

There’s another story here. It’s a story about me, and about you. Were you ready?

Unfortunately, viewers don’t have the same benefit that Tamako has with her market. We can only spend a tiny amount of time in her world. We cannot choose when that time will end. Fortunately we know that everyone in the market will be alright.

I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to Tamako. It was a great run. Each week a moment and a feeling were captured beautifully. This week, that feeling was loss and the moment was goodbye.

Run, Dera, Run

7 responses

  1. I have to thank you. The more I look back on Tamako, the more I see things that I had overlooked. Nuances that would have made the show something special for me all the way through. It was really easy for me to gloss over them at first, with the pretense that the show had nothing of any depth to offer based on unfounded generalizations… but these posts brought things into a perspective that I can really appreciate. They made these last few episodes feel special, because I started connecting with them on a personal level, more than my usual cold-technical analysis. I’ve been starting to realize recently that though a technical analysis of any kind of medium can often be valid, it’s those who try their best to intuit meaning through feelings first that grasp the essence of things the best.

    2013/03/28 at 07:31

  2. redball

    Tamako requires a bit of attention and a bit of interpretation. If you pay close attention and realize that there are episodic narratives more so than an overarching one, the technical aspects of the show start to shine. Once you give it that, I think it’s truly special.

    2013/03/28 at 17:43

  3. nazarielle

    I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to Tamako.

    I wasn’t either :< If Dera had really left, I would've been left traumatized. In the end, we have to let go. I don't want it to end, but I'm happy with how it all ended, so I really can't complain either.

    2013/03/28 at 21:50

  4. Now watch me as I go over all those episodes in a day and forget about everything I watched the next morning!

    2013/03/30 at 23:59

  5. redball

    I like how it ended too. I thought about mentioning it in the post, but I hope they don’t do a second season. It feels complete.

    2013/03/31 at 05:19

  6. redball

    I imagine you’re not alone in this respect. I don’t think this show is for everyone, and that’s okay.

    2013/03/31 at 05:20

  7. No,I’m pretty sure this show is just for me.

    2013/03/31 at 21:38